Who are Women Running Penarth?

Women Running Penarth was established in 2011 to provide a supportive, fun and safe environment for women of all ages, sizes and abilities to enjoy running.  Starting off with just a few members, we’ve now grown to be a group of more than 100 women who all share a passion for running and keeping fit.  There is no such thing as a typical Women Running Penarth member.  We range in age from 18 to 60+.   Some members have been running for many years, others have come to the sport later in life.

Why choose a women only club?  Lots of reasons.  We understand that our members need to find time to fit running in to their busy lives.  Instead of one or two club nights, we offer a choice of sessions in the day and evening and we have groups heading out for runs on five days a week, so you can run with us when you can, as often as you like.   Many of our members have told us that they prefer a women only club as it makes them feel less self-conscious, knowing that no-one will be judging them about their appearance or ability.  Others like the fact that our club offers motivation, advice and support without being overly competitive.  Many of our members do compete and we promote and celebrate participation in races, but there’s no pressure to do so; if you just want to come along to run in the company of others, that’s fine too.

We are affiliated to Welsh Athletics and all of our advertised training sessions are led by qualified and DBS checked leaders and coaches.

Attendance on a pre-book system !

We meet at Tesco Extra, Terra Nova Way, Penarth, CF64 1SA for all of our week-day running sesssions. Sunday sessions start by Penarth Library. Check our calendar for our next sessions.

Erika Fitzgibbon -
Chair and Run Leader
Lynne Sullivan -
Deputy Chair and Run Leader
Sarah Cosgrove - Secretary and Run Leader
Sue Lazarus -
Committee member and Run Leader
Samantha Buckley -
Welfare Officer and Run Leader
Wendy Holder -
Committee member and Run Leader
Gill Munro
Committee member and Run Leader
Jeanette Ward - Committee member and Run Leader
Debbie Richards - Run Leader
Laura Williams - Run Leader

Other members of our committee are: Sarah Pope, Treasurer and Membership Secretary,  Lynne Evans – Communications Officer, Donna Egbeare – Kit Officer, Helen Hodgson and Alison Dacey